Business Description
Full legal name: Nepal Life Insurance Company Limited NEPSE ticker: NLIC Sector: Life Insurance Registered office: Birgunj, Parsa, Nepal Corporate office: Classic Complex, Kamaladi, Kathmandu Incorporated: 2055/10/18 B.S. (1999 A.D.) Insurance license granted: 2058/01/04 B.S. (2001 A.D.) under the Insurance Act, 2049 NEPSE listing date: 2059/10/08 B.S. (2003 A.D.)
Nepal Life Insurance Company Limited (NEPSE: NLIC) is Nepal's largest life insurer by premium volume, writing both participating (with-profit) and non-participating life insurance through a province-office, branch, sub-branch, and agency network (Source: Q1 FY2082/83 Quarterly Report, Note 1 — Reporting Entity — Primary). The business is overwhelmingly endowment-type savings insurance rather than pure protection: endowment, endowment-cum-whole-life, and anticipated endowment (money-back) products together made up 98.7% of gross earned premium in FY2081/82 (Source: NLIC 26th Annual Report FY2081/82, Note 52, Operating Segment — Primary). This mirrors the broader Nepal life insurance sector, where endowment-type products account for a similarly dominant share of premium.
Group structure. NLIC operates two wholly-owned subsidiaries — Nepal Life Capital Limited (2,295,000 shares) and Nepal Life Investment Company Limited (established FY2081/82, NPR 1.8 billion paid-up capital) — and holds associate stakes in Professional Holdings Limited and Uniglobe Higher Secondary School Kathmandu Limited (Source: NLIC Q3 FY2082/83 Related Party Disclosure — Primary). Ownership is split 51% promoter / 49% public shareholders (Source: NLIC 26th Annual Report FY2081/82, Corporate Information — Primary).
Market position. NLIC's full-year FY2082/83 gross premium was NPR 53.69 billion, representing roughly 26.84% of the Nepal life insurance industry's total NPR 200.02 billion in premium, little changed from 26.86% a year earlier (Source: ShareSansar, citing Nepal Insurance Authority data, August 3 2026 — Secondary, citing Primary). That is roughly double the next-largest private life insurer's share, a position NLIC has held consistently for several years in the Nepal life insurance sector.
Financial Performance
All figures are NPR, Insurance Company standalone, from audited annual reports. FY2077/78 and FY2078/79 core audited statements could not be independently verified for this update — the underlying annual reports are scanned-image PDFs with no extractable financial-statement text — so those two years are shown from the company's own secondary "Annexure III" indicator table (company-prepared, not the audited statement itself) and marked with a ‡; treat them as directional context only.
| Item | FY2077/78‡ | FY2078/79‡ | FY2079/80 | FY2080/81 | FY2081/82 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Gross Earned Premium (NPR M) | Not disclosed (scanned source) | Not disclosed (scanned source) | 37,163 | 40,849 | 48,202 |
| Net Earned Premium (NPR M) | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | 36,510 | 40,173 | 47,694 |
| Total Income (NPR M) | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | 52,674 | 59,332 | 68,387 |
| Net Benefits & Claims Incurred (NPR M) | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | (42,101) | (47,793) | (55,746) |
| Net Profit — PAT (NPR M) | 1,964‡ | 156‡ | 2,011 | 2,129 | 2,294 |
| Basic EPS (NPR) | 23.93‡ | 1.90‡ | 24.50 | 25.94 | 25.41 |
| Life Fund — Gross Insurance Contract Liabilities (NPR M) | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | 163,391 | 196,735 | 234,755 |
| Total Investments (NPR M) | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | 138,757 | 164,158 | 189,579 |
| Total Assets (NPR M) | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | 180,476 | 213,496 | 251,552 |
| Total Equity (NPR M) | 11,041‡ | 9,701* | 11,795 | 12,153 | 13,004 |
| NAVPS (Derived, NPR) | n/a | 118.20 | 143.69 | 148.06 | 144.03 |
| Return on Equity (%, Annexure III) | 19.38‡ | 1.50‡ | 18.71 | 17.78 | 18.24 |
| Yield on Investment & Loan (%, Annexure III) | 9.22‡ | 9.47‡ | 10.14 | 10.12 | 10.02 |
| Management Expense Ratio (%, Annexure III) | 8.57‡ | 7.79‡ | 6.66 | 6.50 | 6.25 |
Source: NLIC 25th and 26th Annual Reports, audited Statement of Profit or Loss and Statement of Financial Position — Primary. ‡ = company-prepared "Annexure III" secondary indicator table, used only because no audited alternative exists for those two years. * FY2078/79 total equity (NPR 9,701M) is a genuinely audited figure — the Statement of Changes in Equity opening balance for FY2079/80 in the 25th Annual Report — Primary.
FY2078/79 was an extraordinary tax year. Pre-tax profit of roughly NPR 2,441M was reduced by an income tax charge of roughly NPR 2,344M (an effective rate near 96%), leaving net profit of only NPR 156M. The company paid zero dividend that year and resumed distributions in FY2079/80 (Source: NLIC 23rd Annual Report, Statement of Profit or Loss — Primary). The detailed breakdown of that tax charge, and the roughly NPR 59M gap between the originally reported and later-restated FY2078/79 figures, is not reconciled in the primary sources available for this profile.
Across the three fully audited years shown (FY2079/80–FY2081/82), gross earned premium grew 9.9% then 18.0%, while net profit grew a slower 5.9% then 7.8% — earnings growth running well below premium growth because most incremental premium funds the policyholder life fund rather than shareholder profit. Investment yield drifted down from 10.14% to 10.02% over the same period, and the management expense ratio improved from 6.66% to 6.25% (Source: NLIC Annual Reports, Annexure III — Primary).
Quarterly Snapshot
Figures are Insurance Company standalone, from filed quarterly statements (Source: NLIC Q1–Q4 FY2082/83 Quarterly Financial Results — Primary, company self-reported).
| Item | Q1 YTD | Q2 YTD | Q3 YTD | Full year (Q4 YTD, unaudited) |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Net Earned Premium (NPR M) | 13,369 | 25,531 | 36,705 | ~47,667 (prior year) / 53,454¹ |
| Net Profit — PAT (NPR M) | 215.6 | 336.9 | 454.9 | 465.5 |
| Basic EPS, cumulative (NPR) | 9.55 | 7.11 | 6.40 | 4.91 |
| Prior-year comparative PAT (NPR M) | 205.4 | 468.2 | 626.6 (restated) | 547.7 |
| Prior-year comparative EPS (NPR) | — | — | — | 6.07 |
¹ The Q4 filing's "Net Earned Premium" figures are reported on a Group basis identical to the Insurance Company figure in this filing; gross earned premium for the full FY2082/83 year was NPR 54,034M, up 12.10% on the prior year's comparative NPR 48,202M (Source: NLIC Q4 FY2082/83 Quarterly Financial Results, Condensed Statement of Profit or Loss — Primary, unaudited).
The full-year number is the headline fact. NLIC's Q4 FY2082/83 quarterly filing (unaudited, pending the formal annual audited report) shows full-year net profit of NPR 465.5 million and basic EPS of NPR 4.91 — a sharp decline from the audited FY2081/82 full-year EPS of NPR 25.41. Gross premium nonetheless grew 12.10% year-on-year, and the filing shows an unusually high effective tax rate of approximately 87% on pre-tax profit of NPR 3,690 million in the current-year column (income tax expense of NPR 3,225 million), versus roughly 87% in the prior-year comparative column as well (Source: NLIC Q4 FY2082/83 Quarterly Financial Results, Condensed Statement of Profit or Loss — Primary, unaudited). The quarterly filing does not provide a management explanation for the tax charge, and this "corresponding previous year" full-year figure (NPR 547.7 million, EPS 6.07) differs substantially from the audited FY2081/82 annual report's PAT of NPR 2,294 million (EPS 25.41) discussed above — the filings do not reconcile this gap, and the reason for the difference is not disclosed in the sources available for this profile.
Through the first nine months, the year-on-year decline was narrower. Nine-month PAT of NPR 454.9 million compared with a restated prior-year nine-month figure of NPR 626.6 million, a 27.4% decline; the Q3 filing disclosed a prior-period correction that increased previously reported agency expenses by NPR 138.7 million and income tax by NPR 238.2 million (Source: NLIC Q3 FY2082/83 Quarterly Report, Note 2(j) — Primary). NLIC's annual profit has historically been back-loaded to the fourth quarter following the annual actuarial valuation of the life fund; in FY2081/82, nine-month profit represented only about 27.3% of the eventual full-year result. For FY2082/83, the Q4 print came in lower rather than higher, consistent with the EPS 4.91 full-year figure above.
Balance Sheet, Float & Investment Portfolio
Life insurers hold no working capital in the ordinary commercial sense; the structural metrics are the life fund (policy liability), the investment portfolio funding it, solvency, and shareholder equity.
Life fund growth. Gross insurance contract liabilities (the life fund) grew from NPR 163.4 billion to NPR 196.7 billion to NPR 234.8 billion across FY2079/80–FY2081/82 (+20.4%, then +19.3%), reaching NPR 267.1 billion at Q3 FY2082/83 (Source: NLIC audited annual reports and Q3 FY2082/83 Statement of Financial Position — Primary).
Investment mix. Reading directly off the audited investment note, NLIC held 0% government securities in every extractable year (FY2079/80–FY2081/82), with roughly 91–92% of investments in bank fixed deposits, 3.3–3.6% in debentures, and the remainder in FVTOCI equities and mutual funds (Source: NLIC Annual Reports, Investment Note 10 — Primary). This is directly relevant to a regulatory change discussed below.
Shareholder equity fell from NPR 13,004 million at FY2081/82 year-end to NPR 11,976 million at Q3 FY2082/83, reflecting cash dividend outflows and a decline in the fair-value (OCI) reserve on equity investments, partly offset by nine-month profit (Source: NLIC Q3 FY2082/83 equity movement statement — Primary). This is a normal mid-year distribution pattern rather than an indicator of deterioration, though it depresses the Q3 net-asset-value-per-share figure relative to year-end.
An unexplained borrowings line appeared in Q3 FY2082/83. NLIC reported zero borrowings in every audited annual year through FY2081/82 and in Q1–Q2 of FY2082/83. At Q3 FY2082/83, the balance sheet showed borrowings of NPR 11,758,915,665, with NPR 19,228 million drawn and NPR 7,481 million repaid during the nine months. The nature, counterparty, tenor, and security of this borrowing are not disclosed in the quarterly filing (Source: NLIC Q3 FY2082/83 Statement of Financial Position and Cash Flow Statement — Primary). This coincides with NPR 39,443 million in new bond purchases during the same nine-month period.
Market Position & Competitive Landscape
NLIC's 26.84% share of industry life premium (FY2082/83 full year) is roughly double that of the second-largest private life insurer; no other private life insurer in the Nepal life insurance sector has exceeded roughly 12–15% share in recent years (Source: ShareSansar, citing Nepal Insurance Authority data, August 2026; NIA Province×Company Premium Data — Primary). As of the most recent sector data available, NLIC's renewal-premium ratio (around 77%) runs above the private-sector average of roughly 73–74%, and its loss ratio (around 23%) is below several peers including National Life Insurance (27.7%) and Life Insurance Corporation Nepal (33.3%) — consistent with a comparatively well-retained policy book, though the company's persistency ratio has not been reported as a clean, consistent multi-year series across annual report vintages (Source: Nepal Insurance Authority Province×Company data; NLIC Annual Reports — Primary).
NLIC's competitive position rests on distribution scale and trust rather than product or price differentiation — the underlying insurance products are broadly comparable across the sector, and the advantage is the size of the agency network (60,989 agents at FY2081/82 year-end), the branch footprint, and decades of claims-paying history (Source: NLIC 26th Annual Report, Annexure III — Primary). This kind of distribution-and-trust advantage is durable over a multi-year horizon but is not the same as a cost or pricing advantage earned by offering customers a structurally better deal.
Regulatory & Macro Context
The Nepal Insurance Authority (NIA), established under the Insurance Act 2079, is the sector regulator, responsible for licensing, the Risk-Based Capital (RBC) solvency framework (minimum ratio 130%, adopted FY2080/81), reserve rules, and investment limits for life insurers (Source: NIA Annual Report; Insurance Act 2079 — Primary).
The 35% government-securities floor. The NIA Investment Directive for Insurers, 2025 (effective FY2082/83) reversed the prior rule — a 35% ceiling on government-securities holding — into a 35% minimum floor (Source: New Business Age, "Nepal Insurance Authority Eases Rules for Investment in Government Bonds" — Secondary, citing the NIA directive). As of Q3 FY2082/83, the life insurance sector overall held only about 8.0% of total investable funds in government securities — a roughly 27-percentage-point shortfall against the new floor — while NLIC itself held 0% in every extractable year through FY2081/82 (Source: NIA Q3 FY2082/83 Life Insurer Investment Portfolio Data; NLIC Annual Reports — Primary). Closing that gap implies shifting a large share of the portfolio out of bank fixed deposits, which have historically yielded more than government bonds, and into lower-yielding government paper — a structural headwind to investment income that funds a large share of profit. NLIC's company-specific compliance timeline and any penalties for non-compliance are not disclosed in the sources available for this profile.
Actuarial valuation. The life fund is determined by an annual actuarial valuation performed by an NIA-approved external actuary. NLIC's appointed actuary changed from Milliman Advisors LLP (FY2080/81) to BDO Actuarial Services LLP (FY2081/82); no reason for the change is given in the annual report (Source: NLIC 26th Annual Report, Corporate Information — Primary). The actuarial review, typically completed in the fourth quarter, is the single most consequential determinant of each year's reported profit.
NFRS 17. Nepal's local adoption of IFRS 17 (insurance contracts accounting) has been issued but is not yet effective as of the data reviewed for this profile; when adopted, it will change how insurance contract liabilities, and therefore reported profit and equity, are measured (Source: NLIC Q2/Q3 FY2082/83 Notes, Note 2(h) — Primary).
Governance & Capital Allocation
Board composition. The board has six directors: three representing the 51% promoter group — Chairman Govind Lal Sanghai (Triveni Group), Kamlesh Kumar Agrawal, and Shakti Kumar Golyan (Golyan Group) — and three representing public shareholders — Bimal Prasad Dhakal (senior advocate), Krishna Raj Lamichhane (former CEO, Nepal Bank Limited), and Sharmila Shrestha Maharjan (former director, Jyoti Life Insurance) (Source: NLIC 26th Annual Report, Director Profiles — Primary). CEO Pravin Raman Parajuli and Deputy CEO Amit Kumar Keyal have served across all reviewed annual reports. P.L. Shrestha & Co. has served as external auditor through FY2080/81 and FY2081/82, for an annual audit fee of NPR 1.2 million (Source: NLIC 26th Annual Report — Primary). The text of the independent auditor's opinion (clean, qualified, or with an emphasis-of-matter) was not located in the annual report sections reviewed for this profile.
Related-party transactions. On the disclosed quarterly record, the related-party profile is largely clean: zero premium written on promoter-affiliated entities, zero related-party lending, and zero outstanding related-party receivables or payables in FY2080/81 and FY2081/82. Key management personnel compensation totaled NPR 41.5 million (FY2080/81) and NPR 42.2 million (FY2081/82), including CEO compensation of roughly NPR 22–23 million per year — modest relative to a company with more than NPR 250 billion in total assets (Source: NLIC Related Party Disclosure notes, Q1–Q3 FY2082/83 and Annual Reports — Primary). Contingent liabilities were reported at zero across both audited years.
Dividend record. NLIC paid dividends per share of NPR 21.05 in each of FY2079/80, FY2080/81, and FY2081/82 (combining cash and bonus components, varying mix by year — FY2081/82 was 16.05% cash plus a 5% bonus share issue), targeting a broadly consistent roughly 21% total return on par value in years of normal earnings. FY2078/79 paid zero dividend because of the extraordinary tax charge described above (Source: NLIC Annual Reports, dividend charts — Primary). Cumulative net profit across the three fully audited years (FY2079/80–FY2081/82) was approximately NPR 6,434 million, while shareholder equity rose by approximately NPR 1,209 million over the same period — most of the economic retention in a participating life insurer of this kind accrues to the policyholder life fund rather than to shareholder book equity.
Capital expenditure. NLIC is asset-light: depreciation and amortization was NPR 124 million in FY2081/82, against total assets exceeding NPR 250 billion (Source: NLIC 26th Annual Report, Value Added Statement — Primary).
What Is Not Disclosed
- No embedded value or value-of-in-force (VIF) figure is published. This is the standard valuation anchor for life insurers globally; without it, the economic value of NLIC's in-force policy book cannot be independently estimated from public filings.
- The nature of the NPR 11.76 billion borrowing that appeared on the Q3 FY2082/83 balance sheet — counterparty, instrument type, tenor, interest rate, and security — is not disclosed.
- The independent auditor's opinion language for the FY2080/81 and FY2081/82 audits could not be located in the annual report sections reviewed.
- The reconciliation between the Q4 FY2082/83 quarterly filing's "prior year" comparative full-year profit (NPR 547.7 million) and the FY2081/82 audited annual report's profit (NPR 2,294 million) is not explained in the filings reviewed.
- NLIC's company-specific government-securities percentage and its compliance timeline against the NIA's new 35% floor are not disclosed.
- The rationale for the FY2081/82 actuary change from Milliman Advisors LLP to BDO Actuarial Services LLP is not given.
- FY2077/78 and FY2078/79 full audited financial statements are unrecoverable from the available scanned annual reports.
- The precise driver of the FY2082/83 effective tax rate of roughly 87% on pre-tax profit is not explained in the quarterly filing.
Analytical Perspectives
The case for the franchise. NLIC holds roughly 26–27% of a growing, under-penetrated life insurance market, with no other private competitor above 12–15% share. Its NPR 267 billion life fund continues to compound at a high-teens annual rate, generating a steady spread between gross investment yield (around 10%) and the cost of policyholder liabilities. The company's disclosed related-party and governance record is comparatively clean for a NEPSE-listed, promoter-controlled company — no related-party premium, no related-party lending, modest management compensation, and zero contingent liabilities across the audited years reviewed.
The case for caution. Three structural facts weigh on the outlook. First, NLIC's investment book is roughly 91–92% bank fixed deposits with 0% government securities, just as a regulatory floor now requires a 35% minimum government-securities allocation — a mechanical, multi-year pressure toward lower-yielding assets. Second, the FY2082/83 Q4 filing shows a sharp, as-yet-unexplained decline in profit (EPS falling from an audited NPR 25.41 to an unaudited NPR 4.91) alongside an unusually high effective tax rate, even as gross premium kept growing. Third, a previously nonexistent NPR 11.76 billion borrowing appeared on the balance sheet in Q3 FY2082/83 with no disclosed purpose — a disclosure gap at a company whose core asset is customer trust.
Valuation Context
At the NEPSE closing price of NPR 739.80 (2026-08-07 reference date) and 94,802,014 shares outstanding (post the 5% FY2081/82 bonus issuance), NLIC's market capitalization was approximately NPR 70.1 billion (derived). On the FY2081/82 audited full-year EPS of NPR 25.41, trailing P/E was approximately 29.1×; price-to-book was approximately 5.3–5.9× depending on whether Q3 FY2082/83 book value (NAVPS NPR 126.33) or FY2081/82 year-end book value (NAVPS NPR 144.03) is used.
These multiples should be read against the unaudited FY2082/83 EPS of NPR 4.91 discussed above: on that (unaudited, pending-confirmation) figure, the trailing P/E implied by the same NPR 739.80 price would be approximately 151×, underscoring how sensitive any valuation of NLIC is to which year's earnings, and which of the two very different "prior year" profit figures in the filings, are used as the base. Because NLIC does not publish an embedded-value or value-of-in-force figure, book-value and earnings multiples alone do not capture the economic value of the in-force policy book; readers should treat any single valuation multiple for a life insurer of this kind as a partial picture rather than a complete one.
What We're Watching
- The audited FY2082/83 annual report and its reconciliation to the Q4 quarterly print. The formal audited annual report should confirm (or revise) the NPR 4.91 unaudited EPS figure and, ideally, explain both the roughly 87% effective tax rate and the large gap between the quarterly filing's "prior year" comparative profit and the FY2081/82 audited annual profit.
- Disclosure of the NPR 11.76 billion borrowing. Whether the FY2082/83 annual report identifies the counterparty, instrument, and purpose of this new balance-sheet item will be a direct test of disclosure quality at a company whose core product depends on policyholder trust.
- Government-securities compliance progress. As the NIA's 35% floor phases in, the pace and yield impact of NLIC's portfolio reallocation out of bank fixed deposits will shape investment income — and therefore reported profit — over the next several years.
References
- Nepal Life Insurance Company Limited, 26th Annual Report FY2081/82 — audited financial statements, accessible via SEBON/company website. Primary.
- Nepal Life Insurance Company Limited, 25th Annual Report FY2080/81 — audited financial statements, accessible via SEBON/company website. Primary.
- Nepal Life Insurance Company Limited, 23rd Annual Report FY2078/79 and 24th Annual Report FY2079/80 — accessible via SEBON/company website. Primary.
- Nepal Life Insurance Company Limited, Q1–Q4 FY2082/83 Quarterly Financial Results (unaudited, company-filed) — accessible via SEBON/company website. Primary.
- Nepal Insurance Authority, Province×Company Premium, Claims & Policies Data and Life Insurer Investment Portfolio Data — nia.gov.np/stats. Primary.
- ShareSansar, "Nepali life insurance companies collect over NPR 200 billion in premium; business up by 12.43%," August 3, 2026, citing Nepal Insurance Authority data. Secondary, citing Primary.
- New Business Age, "Nepal Insurance Authority Eases Rules for Investment in Government Bonds." Secondary, citing the NIA Investment Directive 2025.
- Merolagani/NEPSE market data — share price and share count reference, August 2026. Secondary.
- Insurance Khabar, "Nepal Life Insurance Company Receives Highest Rating from ICRA Nepal." Tertiary; investment-mix claims from this source are not independently verified against filings.
Last updated: August 15, 2026.