Business Description
Full legal name: National Life Insurance Company Limited NEPSE ticker: NLICL Sector: Life Insurance Registered office: Lazimpat, Kathmandu
National Life Insurance Company Limited (NEPSE: NLICL) was incorporated in 2044 B.S. (1988 A.D.), making it one of Nepal's oldest private life insurers, and is the country's second-largest life insurer by gross premium (Source: Company self-reported, nationallife.com.np; NLICL 38th Annual Report FY2081/82 — Primary). The company writes traditional participating and non-participating life products — Endowment, Anticipated Endowment, Endowment-cum-Whole-Life, Foreign Employment Term, and Special Term — distributed through province offices, branches, sub-branches, and an agency force; it offers no unit-linked products (Source: NLICL 38th Annual Report, Note 46 — Primary).
Group structure. NLICL holds National Capital Limited (51%, capital markets) and NLG Insurance Company Limited (50.12%, non-life insurance) (Source: NLICL 38th Annual Report, Note 8 — Primary). From FY2081/82, the company began presenting a consolidated "Group" column alongside its standalone "Life Insurance Company" column; this profile uses the standalone figures throughout, consistent with the company's own primary statements, unless noted.
Scale, FY2081/82 (audited, Ashadh-end 2082 / July 16, 2025), standalone: total assets NPR 105.32 billion; total equity NPR 7.51 billion; gross insurance contract liabilities (life fund basis) NPR 94.59 billion; net earned premium NPR 22.24 billion; net profit NPR 818.2 million; EPS NPR 15.70; 1,497,424 in-force policies; total sum assured NPR 465.8 billion; paid-up capital NPR 5.47 billion (Source: NLICL 38th Annual Report FY2081/82 — Primary).
Market position. NLICL held approximately 12.4% of Nepal's life insurance premium in FY2081/82, the second-largest private share behind market leader Nepal Life Insurance Company's roughly 25.8–26.8%, and slipped slightly from a FY2080/81 peak of 13.09% (Source: NIA Province×Company Premium Data; NLICL Annual Report, Major Financial Indicators — Primary).
Financial Performance
All figures are NPR, Life Insurance Company standalone, from audited annual reports.
| Metric | FY2077/78 | FY2078/79 | FY2079/80 | FY2080/81 | FY2081/82 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Gross Earned Premium | 12,524,624,133 | 14,407,663,548 | 16,809,065,591 | 20,491,216,462 | 22,593,781,419 |
| Net Earned Premium | 12,313,723,418 | 14,115,703,118 | 16,488,766,275 | 20,061,521,061 | 22,244,381,758 |
| Total Income | 16,233,096,369 | 18,977,605,986 | 22,351,249,412 | 27,015,504,481 | 29,584,545,437 |
| Net Profit (PAT) | 692,888,754 | 736,459,303 | 980,341,074 | 942,891,588 | 818,165,497 |
| EPS (NPR) | 21.49 | 20.38 | 22.03 | 18.81 | 15.70 |
| Book Value per Share (NPR) | 168.27 | 156.52 | 135.56 | 154.85 | 137.28 |
| Total Equity | 5,705,681,062 | 6,315,743,491 | 6,793,800,262 | 7,760,799,152 | 7,512,957,877 |
| Shares Outstanding (year-end) | 33,908,892 | 40,351,582 | 50,116,664 | 50,116,664 | 54,727,397 |
| Return on Equity (derived, avg. equity) | 13.28% | 12.24% | 14.97% | 12.97% | 10.72% |
| Investment Yield (derived) | 9.74% | 9.97% | 8.90% | 8.78% | 8.06% |
| Life Fund (Gross Insurance Contract Liabilities) | 47,722,752,507 | 55,541,483,219 | 65,404,046,977 | 79,601,803,021 | 94,587,747,065 |
| Solvency Margin | 1,076% (old methodology) | 642% (old) | 473% (old) | 134.3% (RBC) | 165.5% (RBC) |
| In-force Policies | 1,024,600 | 1,406,166 | 1,424,392 | 1,609,443 | 1,497,424 |
Source: NLICL 34th–38th Annual Reports FY2077/78–FY2081/82, audited Statement of Profit or Loss and Statement of Financial Position — Primary. The sharp solvency-ratio drop from 473% (FY2079/80) to 134.3% (FY2080/81) reflects the Nepal Insurance Authority's adoption of the Risk-Based Capital (RBC) solvency framework, not a deterioration in capital — the two methodologies are not comparable.
Growth has not reached per-share value. Over the five years shown, gross premium grew roughly 80% and the life fund roughly doubled, while net profit rose only about 18% and EPS fell about 27% — from NPR 21.49 to NPR 15.70. The mechanism is share-count growth: shares outstanding rose 61% (33.9 million to 54.7 million) through repeated bonus issuances, while book value per share fell from NPR 168.27 to NPR 137.28 over the same period (Source: NLICL Annual Reports, Major Financial Indicators — Primary).
The audited-vs-interim earnings gap. FY2081/82 audited net profit of NPR 818.2 million was 98% higher than the Q4-published interim figure of NPR 412.8 million. The variance arose from a corrected system error in policyholder-loan interest (approximately NPR 185 million), a life-fund surplus transfer booked at year-end, and a correction of an excess Q4 liability booking (Source: NLICL 38th Annual Report, Variance Report of Audited vs. Q4 Published Financials — Primary). This means NLICL's interim quarterly figures cannot be reliably annualized without allowing for a year-end actuarial adjustment.
Quarterly Snapshot — FY2082/83
Figures are Insurance Company standalone (Source: NLICL Q1–Q3 FY2082/83 Quarterly Reports, unaudited, company-filed — Primary).
| Item | Q1 YTD | Q2 YTD | Q3 YTD | 9-month prior-year YTD |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Gross Earned Premium (NPR) | 5,720,647,681 | 11,001,148,262 | 16,293,713,786 | 14,269,503,821 |
| Net Earned Premium (NPR) | 5,529,414,328 | 10,737,121,831 | 15,899,734,537 | 14,079,526,489 |
| Investment & Loan Income (NPR) | 1,418,607,735 | 2,878,729,424 | 4,227,780,704 | 4,331,536,947 |
| Net Profit — PAT (NPR) | 140,885,661 | 286,831,352 | 416,629,885 | 408,522,886 |
| In-force Policies | 1,478,346 | 1,461,508 | 1,434,467 | 1,534,977 (prior-year Q3) |
Nine-month PAT of NPR 416.6 million was essentially flat versus the prior year's NPR 408.5 million (+2.0%), but standalone quarter-only profit declined sequentially (Q1 NPR 140.9 million, Q2 NPR 145.9 million, Q3 NPR 129.8 million). More significantly, in-force policies fell every quarter and were approximately 6.6% below the year-ago comparable quarter (1,434,467 versus 1,534,977) — an acceleration of a multi-year decline described below.
Market Position & Competitive Landscape
The policy-count decline is real and ongoing. NLICL's in-force policy count fell from 1,609,443 at FY2080/81 year-end to 1,497,424 at FY2081/82 year-end to 1,434,467 at Q3 FY2082/83 — a decline of roughly 175,000 policies (−10.9%) over five quarters. New policy issuance through the first nine months of FY2082/83 was down 22.8% year-on-year (202,955 versus 266,689) (Source: NLICL Annual Report, Major Financial Indicators; Q1–Q3 FY2082/83 Other Indicators — Primary).
But the book is getting richer per policy even as it shrinks. Total sum assured grew to NPR 465.8 billion at FY2081/82 year-end, and sum assured per policy rose approximately 11% (from roughly NPR 279,939 to NPR 311,096) between FY2080/81 and FY2081/82 (Source: NLICL Annual Report, Statement of Sum Assured — Primary). This is a mixed signal: the franchise is contracting in policy count while the remaining and newly written book carries higher average coverage.
Cross-company comparison with market leader NLIC (FY2081/82, standalone, same basis):
| Metric | NLICL | NLIC |
|---|---|---|
| Net Profit (PAT) | NPR 818.2M | NPR 2,294.4M |
| EPS | NPR 15.70 | NPR 25.41 |
| Return on Equity (derived) | 10.72% | 18.24% |
| Investment Yield (derived) | ~8.1% | ~10.0% |
| Life Fund Growth | ~19% | ~19.3% |
| In-force Policy Trend (Q3 FY2082/83) | Declining (−6.6% YoY) | Growing (2.14M policies) |
| Government Securities Holding | NPR 0 | NPR 0 |
| Solvency (FY2081/82) | 165.5% | 153.7% |
Source: NLICL and NLIC audited Annual Reports FY2081/82 and Q3 FY2082/83 quarterly filings — Primary. On this comparison, NLICL earns a lower return on equity and a lower investment yield than the sector leader on a similarly fixed-deposit-heavy, zero-government-bond portfolio, and is losing policies while NLIC is adding them. Both insurers nonetheless share the same zero-government-securities exposure discussed below, and NLIC separately disclosed a previously nonexistent NPR 11.76 billion borrowing on its own Q3 FY2082/83 balance sheet — so neither company's disclosure record is without an open question.
Moat factors. Long-dated participating policies create genuine switching costs through surrender penalties and multi-year terms; an agency network (self-reported at roughly 35,000 agents) and a 124-office footprint take years to replicate; the insurance license itself is a regulatory barrier to entry (Source: NLICL 38th Annual Report, Major Financial Indicators — Primary). These are durable sources of customer retention rather than an economic cost advantage — the policyholder bonus rate was reduced from a range of 63–85 to 60–85 per thousand sum assured in FY2081/82, meaning customers received a smaller return as the company scaled (Source: NLICL Annual Report, Major Financial Indicators; Q3 FY2082/83 Other Indicators — Primary).
Regulatory & Macro Context
Minimum paid-up capital for life insurers is NPR 5 billion; NLICL's FY2081/82 paid-up capital of NPR 5.47 billion is compliant with a modest margin (Source: NLICL Annual Report, Note 50 — Primary).
Risk-Based Capital (RBC) solvency. The minimum ratio is 130%; NLICL stood at 165.5% at FY2081/82 year-end and 166% at Q3 FY2082/83, having dipped to 134.3% — only 4.3 percentage points above the floor — at FY2080/81 before recovering (Source: NLICL Annual Report, Major Financial Indicators; Q3 FY2082/83 Other Indicators — Primary).
The 35% government-securities mandate. The NIA's Investment Directive 2025 requires a minimum 35% of investable funds in government securities. NLICL held zero government or NRB-guaranteed bonds in every audited year through FY2081/82 (Source: NLICL 38th Annual Report, Note 10 — "Investment in Bonds (Nepal Government/NRB/Guaranteed by Nepal Government): NIL" — Primary). This is not unique to NLICL — sector leader NLIC also holds zero government securities on its own audited Note 10, and sector-wide, Nepal's life insurers held only about 8% of investable funds in government securities as of Q3 FY2082/83, well below the 35% floor (Source: NIA Q3 FY2082/83 Life Insurer Investment Portfolio Data — Primary). Whether the NIA has granted any compliance waiver or phase-in schedule is not disclosed in NLICL's filings. At NLICL's FY2081/82 investment base of roughly NPR 76.1 billion, full compliance would imply moving approximately NPR 26.6 billion from its current asset mix (predominantly bank fixed deposits) into government bonds, a move that would likely lower investment yield given typical fixed-deposit-versus-government-bond rate spreads.
Reinsurance. NLICL cedes a mandatory minimum share of premium domestically under the Reinsurance Directive 2080 (4% in FY2082/83) and reinsures with Hannover Rück SE (Germany), Nepal Re-insurance Company Limited, and Himalayan Re-insurance Limited (Source: NLICL Q3 FY2082/83 Quarterly Report, Notes — Primary).
NFRS 17. Nepal's local adoption of IFRS 17 insurance-contracts accounting is issued but not yet effective; NLICL continues to report under existing policies (Source: NLICL Q3 FY2082/83 Internal Notes, Note 2(h) — Primary).
Governance & Capital Allocation
Board and ownership. The board is chaired by Prema Rajya Laxmi Singh, with CEO Suresh Prasad Khatri and Deputy CEO Smriti Raj Kandel; both the chairperson and CEO have held their roles across all five years reviewed (Source: NLICL 38th Annual Report, Note 53 — Primary). Rastriya Banijya Bank, a government-owned commercial bank, holds approximately 10.12% of shares and a board seat via its representative, Sarsaswati Adhikari; the terms, if any, of fixed-deposit placements between NLICL and RBB are not disclosed in the related-party-transaction note (Source: NLICL 38th Annual Report, Note 17 — Primary). Other major shareholders include Siddheshwor Kumar Singh (10.24%) and Rana Bahadur Shah (5.44%); promoters hold roughly 65% and public shareholders roughly 35% (Source: NLICL 38th Annual Report, Note 17 — Primary).
Related-party transactions. Every explicit related-party transaction line — premium, commission, rental, interest, dividend — is reported as nil in every year from FY2077/78 through FY2081/82; only key-management compensation and director fees are non-zero (Source: NLICL 38th Annual Report, Note 53 — Primary). Total KMP compensation was NPR 28.0 million and CEO total compensation NPR 20.9 million in FY2081/82, both modest relative to NPR 818 million in net profit (Source: NLICL 38th Annual Report, Note 53 — Primary).
Two governance items are flagged in the filings themselves. First, in FY2081/82 the company moved its NLG Insurance stake from "Investment in Associates" to "Investment in Subsidiaries" on the balance sheet, while the related-party-transaction note separately lists NLG under "Fellow Subsidiaries" — an internal inconsistency in how the group's ownership chain is described, which the filings do not resolve (Source: NLICL 38th Annual Report, Note 8, Note 53 — Primary). Second, the external auditor has rotated across the five years reviewed — M.B. Shrestha & Co. (FY2077/78), R. Rajkarnikar & Co. (FY2078/79–FY2080/81), and back to a similarly named firm for FY2081/82 — and the independent auditor's opinion text was not located in the extracted annual report sections for this profile, so it cannot be confirmed as unqualified in every year (Source: NLICL Annual Reports, auditor signature blocks — Primary).
Contingent tax liability. Disclosed income-tax disputes rose from NPR 265.4 million (FY2080/81) to NPR 906.7 million (FY2081/82) — more than tripling in one year — and the Q3 FY2082/83 quarterly report separately disclosed an Inland Revenue Department litigation of NPR 524.5 million (Source: NLICL 38th Annual Report, Note 56; Q3 FY2082/83 Quarterly Report, Notes — Primary). Management states it does not expect these to result in a cash outflow, but the escalating trend is a material open item.
Dividend record. NLICL paid cash dividends of 0.79% (FY2077/78), 6.50% (FY2078/79), 10.00% (FY2079/80 and FY2080/81), and 8.50% cash plus a 4% bonus share (FY2081/82) on paid-up capital (Source: NLICL Annual Report, Note 50 — Primary). The FY2081/82 payout of roughly NPR 720 million against PAT of NPR 818 million implies an approximately 88% payout ratio — retention is thin, and the company's growth has been funded primarily by the policyholder life fund rather than by retained shareholder equity.
The retention arithmetic does not favor per-share value. Across FY2077/78–FY2081/82, the company retained a portion of earnings and issued bonus and rights shares, taking the share count from 33.9 million to 54.7 million (+61%), while book value per share fell from NPR 168.27 to NPR 137.28 and EPS fell from NPR 21.49 to NPR 15.70 over the same span — meaning retained capital, on a per-share basis, did not translate into higher per-share book or earnings value (Source: NLICL Annual Reports, Major Financial Indicators — Primary).
What Is Not Disclosed
- The basis for the company's compliance posture on government securities. No waiver, phase-in timeline, or alternative compliance mechanism is disclosed against the 35% minimum mandate, despite a 0% actual holding.
- Persistency and lapse rates. No company-level 13th-month or 25th-month persistency ratio is published, so the declining in-force policy count cannot be fully attributed to lapses, agent churn, or maturities.
- Fixed-deposit counterparty concentration, including whether material deposits are placed with board-member shareholder Rastriya Banijya Bank.
- The true group-ownership structure for NLG Insurance given the "Subsidiary" versus "Fellow Subsidiary" inconsistency across different notes in the same annual report.
- The actuarial surplus computation methodology that produced the 98% gap between the FY2081/82 Q4-published and audited net profit figures.
- NLG Insurance Company Limited's and National Capital Limited's standalone financial performance, which is not separately extractable from the parent annual report.
- The target of a roughly NPR 5.7 billion equity-instrument purchase recorded in the FY2082/83 nine-month cash flow statement; the Q3 report does not name the acquisition.
- Agent productivity metrics, including premium per agent, despite agent count growing 24.3% in FY2081/82 while in-force policy count declined.
Analytical Perspectives
The case for the franchise. NLICL operates a large, sticky NPR 94.6 billion life fund in an under-penetrated insurance market, with 38 years of operating history and a genuinely clean related-party-transaction record — every explicit RPT line is nil across five years, a rarity among NEPSE-listed, promoter-influenced companies. The company is solvent (165.5% versus a 130% minimum), carries no standalone debt, and sum assured per policy has continued rising even as the policy count has fallen.
The case for caution. Three facts weigh against the franchise narrative. First, in-force policies have fallen in every recent quarter and accelerated to a 6.6% year-on-year decline by Q3 FY2082/83, while the sector leader's policy count is growing — a competitive divergence. Second, NLICL earns a meaningfully lower return on equity (10.72% versus NLIC's 18.24%) and investment yield (roughly 8.1% versus 10.0%) on a similarly structured, fixed-deposit-heavy portfolio. Third, the escalating income-tax contingent liability (NPR 906.7 million, more than tripling in one year) and the unresolved NLG subsidiary-classification inconsistency are open governance questions that the company's own filings have not resolved.
Valuation Context
At the NEPSE closing price of NPR 562.0 (2026-08-07 reference date) and 56,916,492 shares outstanding, NLICL's market capitalization was approximately NPR 32.0 billion (derived). On FY2081/82 audited EPS of NPR 15.70, trailing P/E was approximately 35.8×; price-to-book was approximately 4.1–4.3× depending on whether FY2081/82 year-end book value (NPR 137.28) or the Q3 FY2082/83 figure (NPR 130.4) is used.
Nepal's listed life insurers, including both NLICL and NLIC, have persistently traded at 30–40× trailing earnings and 4× or more of book value — a premium that likely reflects the market's assessment of embedded, undisclosed value-of-in-force in a growing policy fund, since neither company publishes an embedded-value figure. Readers should treat trailing P/E and P/B multiples for a life insurer of this kind as a partial picture of value rather than a complete one, and should weigh NLICL's slower per-share earnings growth (EPS fell from NPR 21.49 to NPR 15.70 over five years, versus share count growth of 61%) against any multiple applied to its current earnings.
What We're Watching
- In-force policy count trajectory. Whether the decline (−10.9% over five quarters through Q3 FY2082/83) stabilizes or continues accelerating will determine whether NLICL's renewal-premium flywheel — which drives the large majority of gross premium — begins to lose momentum in future years.
- Government-securities compliance status. Any NIA enforcement action, waiver, or phase-in disclosure regarding the 35% minimum mandate would materially change the investment-income outlook, for NLICL and the broader Nepal life insurance sector.
- Resolution of the income-tax contingent liability and IRD litigation. An adverse resolution of the disclosed NPR 906.7 million tax dispute or the NPR 524.5 million IRD litigation would directly reduce distributable profit and could affect future dividend capacity.
References
- National Life Insurance Company Limited, 34th through 38th Annual Reports, FY2077/78–FY2081/82 — audited financial statements, accessible via SEBON/company website. Primary.
- National Life Insurance Company Limited, Q1–Q3 FY2082/83 Quarterly Financial Reports (unaudited, company-filed) — accessible via SEBON/company website. Primary.
- Nepal Life Insurance Company Limited, 26th Annual Report FY2081/82 and Q3 FY2082/83 Quarterly Report — used for cross-company comparison, accessible via SEBON/company website. Primary.
- Nepal Insurance Authority, Province×Company Premium, Claims & Policies Data and Life Insurer Investment Portfolio Data — nia.gov.np/stats. Primary.
- Nepal Insurance Authority, Investment Directive 2025 — referenced in company filings. Primary (referenced).
- nationallife.com.np, company profile and product pages. Secondary (self-reported).
- ShareSansar / Merolagani / ShareHub Nepal — NLICL share price, share count, and ownership breakdown. Secondary.
Last updated: August 9, 2026.