Back to Research
GBBLDevelopment BanksCompany Deep-DiveAugust 12, 202615 min

Garima Bikas Bank (NEPSE: GBBL), Nepal's #2 development bank, grew FY2082/83 unaudited profit 35% as its impairment charge fell 92% even as gross NPL rose to 4.76% and coverage dropped to 100.56%.

Garima Bikas Bank Limited (NEPSE: GBBL) — Company Profile

Executive Summary

Garima Bikas Bank Limited (NEPSE: GBBL) is a Class B national-level development bank under Nepal's Banks and Financial Institutions Act 2073 (BAFIA), and Nepal's second-largest development bank by total assets, at NPR 113.0 billion at FY2082/83 year-end (unaudited) (Source: GBBL Q4/full-year FY2082/83 NRB-format filing — Primary, unaudited). FY2080/81 was a severe earnings trough, with a NPR 1,711 million impairment charge driving profit down 65.7%; FY2081/82 recovered as impairment normalized to NPR 647 million. In FY2082/83, reported profit grew a further 35.3% to NPR 1,689 million — but almost all of that growth came from a collapse in the impairment charge to just NPR 49 million (a 92.4% reduction), even as gross non-performing loans rose to 4.76% and provision coverage fell from 111.29% to 100.56%. The central analytical question is whether this reflects genuine credit stabilization or a thinner reserve cushion against an asset-quality trend that independent rating data suggests is still deteriorating.

Business Overview

Garima Bikas Bank Limited was formed through the consolidation of four entities — the original Garima Bikas Bank, Nilgiri Bikas Bank, Subhechha Bikas Bank, and Sahara Bikas Bank — with Nepal Rastra Bank (NRB) approval, growing from a three-district institution with NPR 26.5 million in paid-up capital (established around 2065 B.S. / 2008 A.D.) into a national-level development bank (Source: GBBL Annual Report FY2081/82, Board of Directors' Report — Primary; ICRA Nepal Issuer-Rating Surveillance, May 2025 — Secondary).

Subsidiary. Garima Capital Limited (merchant banking — depository participant services, portfolio and fund management), 51.2% owned by GBBL. GBBL sponsors the NPR 1 billion closed-end Garima Samriddhi Yojana mutual fund, launched in Poush 2081, with Garima Capital as fund manager (Source: GBBL Annual Report FY2081/82, CEO Message — Primary).

Network (FY2081/82 year-end): approximately 123–125 branches, 51 ATM booths, around 1,034 employees, over 495,000 mobile banking users, and roughly 825,000 customers (Source: GBBL Annual Report FY2081/82; ICRA Nepal, May 2025 — Primary/Secondary). GBBL's registered office moved to an owned seven-storey commercial building in Baluwatar, Kathmandu, purchased in Jestha 2082.

Market position. GBBL held approximately 14% deposit share and 15% credit share of Nepal's 17-institution Class B development bank sector as of mid-April 2025, making it one of the two largest development banks alongside Muktinath Bikas Bank Limited (MNBBL) (Source: ICRA Nepal Issuer-Rating Surveillance, May 2025 — Secondary).

Financial Performance

All figures NPR millions, Bank standalone. FY2082/83 figures are unaudited (company-filed, NRB-format provisional annual print); the audited annual report had not been filed as of this profile's reference date.

Metric FY2077/78 FY2078/79 FY2079/80 FY2080/81 FY2081/82 FY2082/83 (unaudited)
Interest Income 5,471 7,948 10,683 10,110 8,391 7,505
Interest Expense (3,488) (5,354) (7,419) (6,795) (4,779) (3,690)
Net Interest Income 1,983 2,594 3,264 3,315 3,612 3,816
Net Fee & Commission Income 378 344 386 456 511 619
Total Operating Income 2,647 3,050 3,699 3,816 4,258 4,567
Impairment Charge 407 173 413 1,711 647 49
Operating Profit 1,187 1,490 1,763 642 1,809 2,580
Net Profit (PAT) 836 1,030 1,265 434 1,248 1,689
Basic EPS (NPR) 22.75 22.49 24.38 7.64 21.96 28.04
NAVPS (NPR) 145.49 144.03 150.42 145.38 163.07 177.26
Gross NPL / Gross Loans 0.72% 0.85% 1.70% 4.85% 4.69% 4.76%
Provision Coverage n/d n/d n/d n/d 111.29% 100.56%
Return on Equity (as reported) 17.25% 17.25% 17.57% 5.40% 14.24% 16.94%

Source: GBBL Annual Reports FY2077/78–FY2081/82 (audited) and FY2082/83 Q4/full-year NRB-format filing (unaudited) — Primary, company self-reported; FY2080/81 sourced from the FY2081/82 comparative column because the FY2080/81 source PDF is a scanned image with no text layer.

The FY2082/83 profit growth is almost entirely a provisioning effect, not an operating one. Pre-impairment, pre-tax operating income grew from NPR 4,258 million to NPR 4,567 million — a 7.3% increase — while reported net profit grew 35.3%, because the impairment charge fell 92.4% to NPR 49 million. Within the year, the fourth quarter alone booked a net provisioning reversal of approximately NPR 341 million, implying the first three quarters combined had booked charges of roughly NPR 390 million that the fourth quarter partly clawed back (Source: GBBL Q1–Q4 FY2082/83 Interim Financial Statements — Primary, unaudited). Loan-loss provision coverage fell from 111.29% to 100.56% over the same year in which gross NPL rose from 4.69% to 4.76% — a thinner reserve cushion in a year when the headline NPL ratio moved in the wrong direction, not the right one.

Per-share book value has compounded slowly despite heavy earnings retention. NAVPS rose from NPR 145.49 to NPR 177.26 over five years — approximately 4.0% per year — even though the bank retained nearly all of its earnings and raised no fresh equity through rights issues or public offers; the FY2080/81 impairment shock and periodic bonus-share dilution are the primary reasons per-share book value growth lagged the pace of earnings retention (Source: GBBL Annual Reports and verified financial file — Primary).

Quarterly Snapshot — FY2082/83

Bank standalone, cumulative year-to-date (Source: GBBL Q1–Q4 FY2082/83 Interim Financial Statements — Primary, unaudited).

Metric Q1 Q3 Q4 / full year
Net Interest Income (YTD, NPR M) 999 2,800 3,816
Total Operating Income (YTD, NPR M) 1,160 3,329 4,567
Impairment Charge (YTD, NPR M) 333 390 49
Net Profit (YTD, NPR M) 251 1,048 1,689
Annualized EPS (NPR) 17.64 23.21 28.04 (full year)
Gross NPL (%) — 4.77 4.76
Capital Adequacy Ratio (%) — 13.00 13.63
Cost of Funds (%) — 3.61 3.53

The full-year impairment charge of NPR 49 million was lower than the first quarter's charge alone (NPR 333 million) — meaning the second through fourth quarters, taken together, produced a net provisioning reversal of roughly NPR 284 million, concentrated in the fourth quarter. The acceleration in annualized EPS from NPR 23.21 (Q3) to NPR 28.04 (full year) is attributable to this provisioning swing rather than to operating income, which grew steadily and far more modestly across the year.

Cost of funds fell 131 basis points year-on-year (from 4.84% at FY2081/82 year-end to 3.53% at FY2082/83 year-end), as Nepal Rastra Bank's policy easing reduced deposit rates across the banking system; this funded most of the net interest income growth GBBL reported in FY2082/83.

Market Position & Competitive Landscape

Independent surveillance data shows a larger stressed-loan pool than GBBL's own disclosures. ICRA Nepal's May 2025 issuer-rating surveillance of GBBL disclosed, as of mid-April 2025, gross NPL of 4.78% (up from 2.95% in mid-January 2024), "0+ days" delinquency of approximately 27% (including NPLs), of which approximately 9% were "watchlist" accounts — loans the rating agency notes have historically shown higher-than-average slippage into non-performing status (Source: ICRA Nepal Issuer-Rating Surveillance, May 2025 — Secondary, regulator-grade). This watchlist and delinquency detail is not disclosed in GBBL's own quarterly NRB-format filings, which report only the headline gross NPL ratio.

GBBL's genuine competitive advantage is its deposit funding base. ICRA's same surveillance found GBBL's CASA (current and savings account) ratio at approximately 42%, above an industry figure of approximately 39%, with its top 20 depositors representing only 8.6% of total deposits — a granular, low-concentration funding base. Its base rate of 5.26% was among the lowest of rated development bank peers (Source: ICRA Nepal, May 2025 — Secondary). Top 20 borrowers represented only 6.8% of the loan book, also indicating a granular lending profile. GBBL's interest spread nonetheless compressed from 4.60% (FY2079/80) to 4.04% (FY2082/83) as competition and regulatory constraints narrowed margins.

Class B banks face a structural competitive constraint relative to commercial banks. Development banks cannot conduct foreign-exchange or letter-of-credit business and are restricted to limited hypothecation-only lending, meaning Class A commercial banks can compete for the same customers with a wider product range and typically lower funding costs. ICRA Nepal characterizes this restriction as a long-term credit negative for the development bank industry generally (Source: ICRA Nepal, May 2025 — Secondary).

Regulatory & Macro Context

GBBL operates under NRB's Class B licensing framework (BAFIA 2073). Capital adequacy minimum is 11% for national-level development banks (the same floor as commercial banks); GBBL's CAR stood at 13.63% at FY2082/83 year-end, with a CET1 (core capital) ratio of 11.62% — adequate, though ICRA notes that "major slippages... can adversely impact the capitalisation profile given the challenges in internal capital generation" (Source: ICRA Nepal, May 2025 — Secondary). The NRB credit-to-deposit ratio ceiling is 90%; GBBL stood at 86.14% at FY2082/83 year-end, leaving limited headroom to grow loans materially faster than deposits.

NRB's Expected Credit Loss (ECL) framework, effective from Shrawan 2081 (mid-2024), requires development banks to recognize impairment as the higher of the ECL calculation or NRB's regulatory provisioning norms. This makes the FY2082/83 NPR 49 million impairment charge — in a year gross NPL rose and coverage fell — a figure that invites particular scrutiny under the new framework rather than being automatically defensible as prudent (Source: ICRA Nepal, May 2025; NRB ECL directive — Primary/Secondary).

Macro environment. NRB reduced its policy repo rate to 4.5% in FY2082/83, and deposit rates across commercial and development banks fell roughly 130–150 basis points — the primary driver of GBBL's net interest income growth this year. Nepal's placement on the FATF grey list since 2024 has increased correspondent-banking compliance costs across the sector, including for GBBL's remittance-facilitation business, though the cost impact is not separately quantified in available disclosures.

Governance & Capital Allocation

Ownership and board. Promoter shareholders held approximately 49% and the public approximately 51% as of mid-April 2025 — promoter ownership has drifted below the 50% threshold shown in the FY2081/82 annual report's five-year table through promoter-to-public share conversions (Source: ICRA Nepal, May 2025 — Secondary). The promoter group is centered on Syangja district, and three of seven directors plus the chairman and the sole independent director are all from Syangja — a notable geographic concentration in the board's composition (Source: GBBL Annual Report FY2081/82, board composition; ICRA Nepal, May 2025 — Primary/Secondary). CEO Madhav Prasad Upadhaya is himself a promoter shareholder, which is permitted under BAFIA and aligns management with per-share outcomes, though combined with concentrated promoter control it also concentrates decision-making within one aligned group.

Related-party transactions are modest and arm's-length on the disclosed record. FY2081/82 related-party disclosures show total director payments of NPR 4,856,179, key management personnel remuneration of NPR 20,605,386, and zero loans or advances to directors (Source: GBBL Annual Report FY2081/82, Note 5.7 — Primary). No material related-party lending or value-extraction pattern was identified in the filings reviewed for this profile.

Dividend record. GBBL has paid a dividend in every year reviewed: 16.00% (FY2077/78, all bonus), 14.50% (FY2078/79), 10.00% (FY2079/80), 5.00% all-cash in the trough year FY2080/81, and 10.53% (4.53% cash plus 6% bonus) in FY2081/82, approved at the 19th AGM in Kartik 2082 (Source: GBBL Annual Report FY2081/82; ShareSansar, October 2025 — Primary/Secondary). The FY2082/83 dividend had not yet been declared as of this profile's reference date, pending the audited annual report. Paid-up share capital grew from NPR 3,676 million to NPR 6,021 million over six years entirely through bonus share issuances, with no rights issues or public share offers during this period.

Distributable profit is meaningfully below reported profit. GBBL's FY2082/83 distributable profit was NPR 1,217 million, implying an annualized distributable EPS of approximately NPR 20.23, against reported EPS of NPR 28.04 — meaning roughly 28% of reported earnings per share is absorbed by mandatory reserves and regulatory adjustments before it becomes available for distribution (Source: GBBL Q4 FY2082/83 Statement of Distributable Profit — Primary, unaudited).

What Is Not Disclosed

  1. Statement of Cash Flows. No cash flow statement was available in the extracted filings for any year reviewed, including FY2082/83, preventing an independent check of how closely reported profit tracks operating cash generation.
  2. Watchlist and delinquency composition in GBBL's own filings. The approximately 9% watchlist and 27% "0+ days" delinquency figures discussed above originate from ICRA Nepal's independent surveillance, not from GBBL's own quarterly or annual disclosures.
  3. FY2082/83 audited profit, dividend, and contingent liabilities, pending the audited annual report.
  4. The status of the planned open-end mutual fund (NPR 1 billion, mentioned as a near-term plan in the FY2081/82 CEO Message) — no launch has been evidenced in filings reviewed through FY2082/83.
  5. Confirmation that the Baluwatar head office building is operational, referenced as a near-term plan in the FY2081/82 annual report.
  6. Multi-year related-party, board, and auditor-remark detail for FY2077/78–FY2080/81 — the earlier annual report PDFs for these years do not carry an extractable text layer for narrative sections, limiting the related-party and governance history to the FY2081/82–FY2082/83 window.

Analytical Perspectives

The case for the franchise. GBBL has a genuine, independently verified funding advantage — a CASA ratio of roughly 42% against an industry figure of roughly 39%, a granular deposit base with its top 20 depositors representing only 8.6% of deposits, and one of the lowest base rates among rated development bank peers. Its related-party transaction record is clean, with no director loans and modest, arm's-length compensation. The bank has grown without diluting shareholders through rights issues, funding growth entirely from retained earnings and bonus capitalization, and it remains Nepal's #2 development bank by assets with regulatory entry barriers (no new Class B licenses have been issued since the sector's consolidation wave) protecting its position.

The case for caution. Reported profit growth in FY2082/83 depended heavily on a sharply reduced impairment charge rather than core operating income growth, in a year that gross NPL rose and provision coverage fell to barely above 100% of the non-performing balance. Independent rating-agency data not reflected in GBBL's own quarterly disclosures shows a considerably larger stressed-loan pool (approximately 9% watchlist, 27% broader delinquency) than the headline 4.76% NPL ratio alone suggests. Restating FY2082/83 earnings at a more typical multi-year impairment charge — using GBBL's own four-year average impairment of roughly NPR 410 million, rather than the reported NPR 49 million — produces meaningfully lower earnings per share and return on equity than the headline figures show, a useful reference point for readers assessing the sustainability of FY2082/83's reported profit.

Valuation Context

At the NEPSE reference price of NPR 420.50 (2026-08-12) and approximately 60.2 million shares outstanding, GBBL's market capitalization was approximately NPR 25.3 billion (derived). Trailing P/E on the unaudited FY2082/83 EPS of NPR 28.04 was approximately 15.0×; price-to-book was approximately 2.37× on FY2082/83 NAVPS of NPR 177.26. For comparison, GBBL traded at 2.62–3.74× book in FY2077/78–FY2081/82, when gross NPL was below 1% and reported ROE was closer to 17% — a different credit-quality regime than the one reflected in the FY2082/83 figures.

Because GBBL's FY2082/83 reported return on equity (16.94%) relies substantially on an unusually low impairment charge, and independent rating data suggests a meaningfully larger stressed-loan pool than the headline NPL ratio implies, readers should treat the current trailing P/E and P/B multiples with the understanding that they are priced off an earnings base that may not be sustainable at its current level. A valuation built instead on GBBL's more typical multi-year impairment experience would imply materially lower earnings per share and, correspondingly, a higher earnings multiple at the same share price.

What We're Watching

  1. The audited FY2082/83 annual report and its impairment charge. Whether the audited figures confirm the NPR 49 million provisional impairment charge, or revise it upward as some other Nepali banks' provisional-to-audited transitions have shown, is the single most consequential near-term data point for assessing whether FY2082/83's profit growth is durable.
  2. Gross NPL and the independently reported watchlist pool. Whether gross NPL moves materially above or below the 4.76%–4.77% range seen through FY2082/83, and whether future ICRA Nepal surveillance shows the watchlist pool (approximately 9% as of May 2025) shrinking or growing, will indicate whether asset quality is genuinely stabilizing.
  3. Whether the net interest margin holds as the rate-easing cycle matures. GBBL's cost of funds (3.53% at FY2082/83 year-end) is near a cyclical floor; as NRB's easing cycle slows, the tailwind that funded FY2082/83's net interest income growth is unlikely to repeat at the same magnitude.

References

  1. Garima Bikas Bank Limited, Annual Reports FY2077/78 through FY2081/82 — audited financial statements, accessible via SEBON/company website. Primary.
  2. Garima Bikas Bank Limited, Q1–Q4 FY2082/83 Interim Financial Statements (unaudited, company-filed, NRB format) — accessible via SEBON/company website. Primary.
  3. ICRA Nepal, Issuer Rating Surveillance for Garima Bikas Bank Limited, May 22, 2025 — icranepal.com. Secondary, regulator-grade rating agency data.
  4. Nepal Rastra Bank, BAFIA 2073, Unified Directives, and ECL guidance for development banks. Primary. nrb.org.np.
  5. ShareSansar — GBBL dividend and AGM announcements, 2025–2026. Secondary.
  6. NEPSE market data — GBBL share price and 52-week range, August 2026. Secondary.

Last updated: August 12, 2026.

Disclaimer: This analysis is provided for informational purposes only and does not constitute investment advice. All investments involve risk, including potential loss of principal. Past performance is not indicative of future results. Readers should conduct their own due diligence and consult with qualified financial advisors before making any investment decisions.